Earlsbrook street names
A rich history
Lincoln takes its name from the Earl of Lincoln, a founding figure of the Canterbury Association who helped shape this region in the 1800s. At Earlsbrook, we wanted to pay homage to the rich history of the area by naming our streets after the people and stories that have helped shape the area.
Read on to discover who the people behind the street names were, and how each one connects to Earlsbrook and the wider Lincoln area.
Earlbrook Boulevard
The main entry boulevard is planned to run the full length of the development's eastern side as future stages are built.
Chudleigh Drive
Named for 'Chudleigh', the historic 1877 homestead where the Greenslade family still live today.
Pearson Brothers Boulevard
Tied to the historic concrete water trough built in 1907 by brothers George and Herbert Pearson of Pearson Bros.
O'Callaghan Drive
Named after Rev. Arthur O'Callaghan (1837–1930), an Anglican vicar of Lincoln.
Robson Drive
Named after the Robson family, long-time owners and residents of 1521 Springs Road.
Strouts Drive
Named for Frederick Strouts, a renowned Canterbury architect who was behind the design of Chudleigh House in 1877 and Ivey Hall at Lincoln College
Fitzgerald Lane
Named for James Edward Fitzgerald (1818–96), the first Superintendent of Canterbury Province.
Greenslade Drive
Named for the Greenslade family, the most recent owners and operators of the area's former dairy farm, who still live at Chudleigh House.
Hope Drive
Named for 'Hope', the maiden name of Leslie Greenslade, who owns and still lives at Chudleigh.
Campbell Drive
Named for 'Campbell', the middle name of John Greenslade, who farmed the land.
William Ivey Drive
Named after William Edward Ivey, the Lincoln School of Agriculture's (later becoming Lincoln University) first Manager-Director from 1878–1892.
Lowrie Drive
Named after Scottish-born William Lowrie, a Director at Lincoln University (or Canterbury Agricultural College as it was known then) from 1901–1908.
Alexander Avenue
Named after Robert Edward Alexander, Lincoln's longest-serving head at the time 1909–1935 (26 years and Lincoln's longest-serving head at the time).
Burns Crescent
Named for Sir Malcolm Burns, Director and Principal from 1952–1974, he was Lincoln's first New Zealand-born Director/Principal.
Hayward Drive
Named after Dr John Aldred Hayward, a Lincoln staff member for over 30 years, and a resource management pioneer.
Ross Lane
Professor (Bruce) B.J. Ross was the Principal of Lincoln College and later the first Vice-Chancellor of Lincoln University between 1985 and 1996, when the College gained full autonomy as a University.
Find your place today
Live, grow and thrive in Earlsbrook.